Who is that Solomon Grundy?

This post is a part of Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge

The task is to pick a nursery rhyme and make a new interpretation of it.

f15842499d1837d26d5ff6e03ed9aa26

This is not like the other joyful, upbeat nursery rhymes. They say this is an exercise for the children to remember the days of the week.

I remember reading this poem/rhymes in 2nd standard. I was old for the days of the week practice and too young for gloomy poems. The teacher skipped that, but I read it. I cannot forget how I felt after reading. On the first read, I took it literally and was scared that people live just for a week. I felt sad for that Solomon. Then I noticed that there was a picture of a bird with that poem and convinced myself that Solomon was a bird and thought birds don’t live longer. Whenever I turned that page I felt uneasy.

My Interpretation

Now I look this in a different way( inspired by a Tamil film song). Seven days of the week represents seven decades of human life.
First Ten Years- Birth and other learning processes
Second Ten years- People and friends get to know who we are
Third Ten Years- Job and getting married
Fourth Ten Years- Diseases start to sneak in
Fifth Ten Years- It gets worse
Sixth Ten Years- When we need someone to help us, feels like death
Seventh Ten Years- Bedridden and Death
Thus it ends

Still gloomy, isn’t it? Let me rewrite the lines.
Feature-Tuscany-Road-Trip-places-to-visit-in-tuscany-visit-tuscany-where-to-go-in-tuscany-760x471
Solomon Grundy
Joined work on Monday,
Learned it on Tuesday,
Got bored on Wednesday,
Took leave on Thursday,
Quits it on Friday,
Slept well on Saturday,
Road trip on Sunday.
But that is not the end of Solomon Grundy.
Better!
8

7 thoughts on “Who is that Solomon Grundy?

  1. It somehow and don’t know why reminded me of Solomon Vandy. May be the ‘Solomon’.

    I like the new perspective as well the the 10 year plan of life. Well done! 🙂 Thank you for sharing this.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment