The blue umbrella -Ruskin Bond

I had forgotten that I like children novels until Amazon recommended me ‘The Blue Umbrella’ by Ruskin Bond. Suddenly all my love for comics and children stories resurfaced, and I ordered it immediately, and as soon as it arrived, I finished reading the 88 pages of the sweet little book in 45 min. It is my first Ruskin bond read, and I have already ordered two more.

It is the story of a girl and her blue umbrella which is obvious from the title. So this little girl Binya trades her tiger claw necklace, which is believed to bring luck and it did bring luck to Binya because of which she was able to get the umbrella, for the new umbrella. Soon the umbrella became the talk of the little village, and everyone wished that they had one like it. A shopkeeper was one among them and all his tactics to lay his hands over the umbrella failed. She had to fight with nature and men to keep it safe, and she took it along with her everywhere she went, and it protected her from sun, rain, wind and even from a serpent once. She refused to close it even while at home. The once bright blue umbrella became a milky blue one. The rain and sun changed its colour, but they couldn’t change her love for the umbrella. After a bitter incident, she decided not to flaunt it because it brought out the bad in others and somehow she felt responsible for that and later she decided to share it with everyone. Binya’s umbrella became the village’s.

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-11 at 6.21.09 PM

It is a simple story, but the way of writing, the village, the characters, the wind, the monsoon, the Illustrations, two cows (Neelu and Gori) made it a wonderful read. It even broke my writing dormancy and made me write this post. This story brought back the “Heidi” and good old “Tinkle” memories. Even now I couldn’t resist “Tinkle” when I see one in a bookshop stand.
Yes, it is a Children’s book, but why should only children have all the fun. It is a good read for the adults too and a wonderful gift for kids.

P.S. This is my first post in the Read with me category and there are many more to come.

Neophyte

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Adventures of a Bibliophile

nevertheless, she persisted

The Well-Thumbed Reader

One Bookworm's New Chaper

The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds...

Fictionophile

Fiction reviews, Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, books, crime fiction, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Avni's Bookish Paradise

I always imagined paradise will be full of books, so I made my own :D

Kristin Kraves Books

Enjoys the company of books.

picture books blogger

unique, highly illustrated books for all ages

Sig Nordal, Jr.

Essen views

The Course of Events

One writer's story to becoming an author

Mindfump!

Mental health news, reviews and all things funny.

Perspective of a Writer

A Book & Kdrama Blog

The Book Prophet

"I live in two worlds; one is a world of books."

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Pearls Before Swine

"because truth is stranger than fiction"

Books blog | The Guardian

anything and everything..

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

The Perfectly Imperfect Bunch

A blog dedicated to discovering the art of writing

